Huntertown Seal
Town of Huntertown
15617 Lima Road, Huntertown, Indiana 46748
(260) 637-5058   Email
Web Site:

Town of Huntertown - Meeting Minutes

Meeting of the Town Council
of Huntertown, Indiana
July 13, 2017 5:00 p.m.
Huntertown Town Hall

A meeting of the Huntertown Town Council was held on Thursday, July 13, 2017 at 5:00 p.m. In attendance were Council President Mike Aker and council members Patricia Freck, Gary Grant, Brandon Seifert and Mike Stamets. Also present were: Clerk-Treasurer Ryan Schwab; Superintendent of Utilities Don Papai; Dave Hawk of Hawk Haynie Kammeyer & Smith; and John Nelson and Kristine Thurston of DLZ. Also in attendance were one (1) guest and one (1) reporter.

Mike Aker called the meeting to order with the Pledge of Allegiance.


John Nelson, project engineer with DLZ, addressed the council concerning an increase on the Carroll Rd project due to the utilities not being relocated within their deadline. As a result, E&B Paving needs to accelerate their work in order to meet the completion date of August 6, 2017, otherwise there will be a 2-3 week delay of opening the road which will impact the traffic for Northwest Allen County Schools' students registering for classes on this date along with the school buses needing access to the north side of the school when classes begin on August 14, 2017.

The original quote for the acceleration was estimated at $54,000 and DLZ reported at the July 5, 2017 meeting that Huntertown would be responsible for only 20 percent of the cost. Since that time, discussions with Northeast Indiana Regional Coordinating Council (NIRCC) concluded that the acceleration was not reimbursable by the Indiana Department of Transportation (INDOT) and Huntertown would be responsible for the entire amount. DLZ reported the amount has increased but does not know what it is at this time.

Council members and town attorney Dave Hawk responded with questions to Nelson and Kristine Thurston, Construction Observer Manager with DLZ.


Gary Grant made a motion to approve acceleration of the Carroll Road Reconstruction project. Brandon Seifert seconded. Motion passed, 4-1 (Patricia Freck - Nay; Gary Grant - Aye; Brandon Seifert - Aye; Mike Stamets - Aye; Mike Aker - Aye).

Gary Grant made a motion to adjourn. Brandon Seifert seconded. Motion passed with a voice vote.

The next meeting of the Huntertown Town Council is Monday, July 17, 2017 at 6 p.m.

Attest:_____________________________   __________________________________
           Mike Aker,                                           Ryan Schwab,
           President                                             Clerk Treasurer